Official Clarifications, Changes and Errata

The official Empires in Arms Errata as published in The General 23/4 and, below, as published in The General 25/4:

Victory Conditions C.7: Change the word "American" to "colonial".
Operational Possibilities Chart: The attacker's first combat table when crossgriding an Escalated Assault with a Cordon river crossing should be "5-1" instead of "5-2".

The Russia I, II, and III corps should have a cavalry morale of "4".


Change to read:
A major power already at war with another major power may not declare war on other major powers if unbesieged enemy infantry corps are already inside its home nation.

Change to read:
If there are any allies and/or royal marriages involved, then the alliances and/or royal marriages are broken and the requisite points lost for each.

Add to the end of 4.9 the following:
If desired, write down combined movement declarations and reveal them simultaneously.

Change the first sentence of to read:
The corps and the fleet must both begin in the same friendly controlled (it may be besieged) port.

Change to read:
Corps may increase their movement allowance by one movement point by "force marching." Cossacks, freikorps, guerillas, cavalry corps and disembarking corps may not be force marched.

Add to the end of 7.3.5:
If an area contains a friendly port that is besieged, counters may be considered to be disembarked directly into the port (if there is room) or into the port's area, as the controlling player desires.

Change to read:
Final morale levels are determined and forces revealed as per

Change to read:
Final morale levels are determined and forces revealed as per
Add the following rule: Neutral forces that previously had access in territory that has changed control (i.e., due to reconquest or ceding) can be given voluntary access under any new conditions granted by the new controlling major power (unconditional access _must_ be given if peace condition C.5 applies between the involved major powers). If no access is given or available, the neutral forces must be handled as with force repatriation (see and/or option 12.4).
Add the following rules:
If a major power is denied voluntary access or denied desired access conditions, its land forces may still be moved into or through desired areas by using "forcible access," as follows: Forcible access operates under the same restrictions as access through neutral minor countries (see A phasing major power loses one political point per Turn for each major power's territories in which forcible access is used. For example, during a Turn, French counters are moved through some Bavarian and Saxon areas using forcible access. France loses one political points if both these minor countries are controlled by Prussia, but loses two political points if Bavaria is Austrian-controlled and Saxony is Prussian-controlled. The major power controlling territory in which forcible access occurs may, if desired, immediately declare war and lose the requisite political points for each separate declaration on any or all of the major powers using forcible access in its territory, unless prevented by limitation in This chance to declare war is repeated each time a counter using forcible access is moved. If war is declared, allies may be called as in 4.3.

Add to the end of
If Hanover is not part of the Kingdom of Westphalia, Hanoverian army factors are not available for use by the Kingdom of Westphalia.

Add to the end of
If Hanover and/or Bavaria are not part of the Confederation of the Rhine, their army factors are not available for use by the Confederation of the Rhine.

Change the first sentence of 11.6.5 to read:
POLITICAL POINTS: The Ottoman Empire is worth two political points to create.

Add to the end of
France and Great Britain may never make an informal pace and, unless one or both have ceased to be dominant powers, may never be allies.

Add the following rule:
12.3.9: NO CEDING: Allow the ceding of minor countries only as a peace term and at no other times.

Add the following rule: Available Austrian insurrection and Turkish feudal corps not placed on the mapboard during initial setup are considered to be standing down.

-1: Per major power per Turn using forcible access (10.3.4). 

More errata, this time from The General 25/4.

Victory Condition B.6:
Add: Although can be ignored in this case, the other restrictions of 4.2.2 still apply.

Add after the word "case" in
... although the other restrictions in 4.2.2 still apply) ...

Typo in
"+1" should be "-1".

Clarification to 7.4.4:
A depot built on a ship must be that of the same major power.

Add to the end of
Trivial combats do not count as a combat to prevent attempts to reinforce. If all of a side's forces in an as yet unresolved trivial combat leave to reinforce another combat, the trivial combat does not take place.

Add to the end of
Since no one was defeated, no political points are gained or lost from the combat.

Add to the end of For ALL trade, Great Britain announces all trading he wishes to conduct, after which each major power involved may agree or disagree.

Clarification to 8.5.4:
Only available (currently off the map) fleet and corps counters may be purchased as "new" counters. Counters currently on the mapboard may not be purchased to be available for immediate return to play as "new" counters should they be eliminated.

Add to the end of
Garrison factors (NOT corps, freikorps, or cossacks in garrison) of the controlling major power MUST be immediately removed from the minor country following the honors of war rules (see -- in this case, it can be done by Spanish and Turkish garrisons).

Clarification to
East and/or West Galicia may be part of a Russian-controlled Poland.

Add before the last sentence in
They may never make an informal peace and may never be allies

Clarification to 12.2.2:
This is determined during an Economic Phase.

Add to the end of
... or if the commanding leader has a strategic rating of 5.

Add the following rule:
Field or limited field combats where one side has a 5:1 or better ratio in strength factors must be resolved using trivial combat. EXCEPTION: An outnumbered defender may attempt to withdraw before the trivial combat by rolling the commander's strategic rating or less.